Last night, at the Tertiary & Industry Awards Night, the second and final round of winners from the
2013 IPAF ATOM Awards were announced before a full house at Melbourne venue Red Bennies.

The event was hosted by the spirited Brian Nankervis from RocKwiz, and featured a live performance from Anna Lumb. The awards were attended by education and screen industry professionals, higher education students, screen funding body representatives and sponsors.

The ATOM Awards have been held annually for over thirty years, and are dedicated to recognising film and media excellence in the education and screen industry sectors. In 2013, we received over 600 entries from Australian and New Zealand media producers across twenty-nine categories.

The winners of the tertiary and general/open categories in the
2013 IPAF ATOM Awards are:

Best Tertiary Short Fiction
Thin Air, Natalie Nalesnyik, Swinburne University of Technology

Best Tertiary Experimental
Womb, David Ward, Swinburne University of Technology

Best Tertiary Animation
I Dream a Geisha, Nicole Tan, Swinburne University of Technology

Best Tertiary Documentary
Not My Place, Chantell Basiacik, University of Technology, Sydney

Best Educational/Training Resource (Primary/Secondary)
Paul Kelly – Stories of Me, Shark Island Productions

Best Instructional/Training Resource (Tertiary/General)
Listen Up!, Alice Taylor, CAAMA Productions

Best Indigenous Resource
Yagan, Kelrick Martin, Spear Point Productions

Best Game / Multimedia Production
NEOMAD, Yijala Yala Project, Big hART

Best Short Fiction (50 minutes or less)
The Landing, Jade van der Lei, Perception Pictures

Best Experimental
You Like It, I Love It, James Vaughan, University of Technology, Sydney

Best Animation
Butterflies, Isabel Peppard and Warwick Burton, TBC Media

Best Music Video
Dropframe: Trichome, Oli Sansom

Best Children’s Television Program
Scope, Sarah Abbott, Network Ten

Best Factual Television Series
Whitlam: The Power and the Passion,
Paul Clarke, Beyond Screen Production, Bombora Film & Music Co. and Screen Australia

Best Documentary Short Form (30 minutes or less)
Pablo’s Villa, Matthew Salleh, Urtext Film Productions Pty Ltd

Best Documentary General
First Footprints, Martin Butler and Bentley Dean, Contact Films

Best Documentary History, Social & Political Issues
FALLOUT, Peter Kaufmann and Lawrence Johnston, Rough Trade Pictures Pty Ltd

Best Documentary Science, Technology & the Environment
Jabbed, Sonya Pemberton, Genepool Productions

Best Documentary Biography
Once My Mother, Sophia Turkiewicz and Rod Freedman, Change Focus Media

Best Documentary Arts
Paul Kelly – Stories of Me, Shark Island Productions

Best Docudrama (dramatised documentary)
Desert War, Andrew Ogilvie, Electric Pictures and Nutopia

In accepting the award for Best Documentary Biography for Once My Mother, producer
Rod Freedman said:

At a time when one-off documentaries are struggling to find a place on Australian television, director Sophia Turkiewicz and I are proud to receive this award from ATOM, an organisation that continues to promote the importance of documentaries in recording stories that matter. This award will boost our aim to reach educators and students with the film and the accompanying ATOM study guide.

Sophia Turkiewicz, director of Once My Mother, said:

I’m delighted that a film about my mother, an illiterate Polish refugee, will now be used in schools as an educational resource and that her story will be known to Australian students. Thank you to ATOM and the judges for this recognition of Once My Mother.

Peter Kaufmann, producer of FALLOUT, said:

We are very grateful to ATOM for the recognition we have received for winning Best Documentary History, Social & Political Issues. At a time when the fine tradition of documentary filmmaking is at grave risk, we feel privileged to have shared the ATOM Awards stage with other feature documentary films such as Once My Mother. Neither film would have been made without the vision and support of Screen Australia’s Signature Fund.


Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM), in conjunction with the Intellectual Property Awareness Foundation (IPAF), also announced the tertiary category winner of the inaugural My Story My Content short film competition at this event.

My Story My Content is sponsored by Crumpler, and gives students the opportunity to make a 60-second short film or animation celebrating Australian screen creativity.

The 2013 My Story My Content tertiary winners are:

Cinemorph, Carolyn Duchene, University of Adelaide

Film Gives Me Freedom, Aaron Lucas, University of Wollongong

My Story My Content tertiary category winner Carolyn Duchene said of last night’s event:

The 2013 IPAF ATOM Awards were outstanding this year! This fantastic event brought directors, producers, actors and many more highly passionate and talented screen industry professionals together from all over Australia for a night of entertainment, awards presentations and delicious food and drink. It really was amazing to see such a melting pot of media talent, all bound together by one thing: a passion for creating qualify film and television and sharing this passion with the world. The host was great, the people were great, the whole evening was a blast and it was so inspiring to see so much film industry love in one venue. I hope to be involved with ATOM events and competitions for many years to come. It was a great night. Thank you ATOM and IPAF – I am proud to be a part of an event like this!


For more information about the 2013 IPAF ATOM Awards, or to stream a selection of the finalists’ productions online (including all the primary and secondary school finalists), visit www.atomawards.org.

For more information on My Story My Content, or to stream all the finalists’ short films online, visit mystorymycontent.com.

Be first to comment

two + 8 =